You are here

Year End Show 2020 recap and award winners

Major thanks to the students, faculty, staff, and guests who helped us celebrate at our virtual Year End Show on May 8! If you missed the live event, you can still view the exhibition via Miro:

Graduate projects
Undergraduate projects

We’ve also made a few presentations by our special guests available on our YouTube channel:

A cocktail with Bob Somol (not shown during the event!)
Baking with Gwen Fullenkamp
A word from our student journal, Fresh Meat

And we’ve posted our faculty playlists on Spotify:

David Brown
Ania Jaworska
Antonio Torres

Congratulations to all the award winners:

Graduation awards

AIA Henry Adams Medal
Meghan Quigley

Bronze Alpha Rho Chi Medal, graduate student
Julia Turner

Bronze Alpha Rho Chi Medal, undergraduate student
Katarzyna Pilat

ALA Student Merit Award, graduate student
William Stauffer

ALA Student Merit Award, undergraduate student
Nash Kennedy

Jury awards

Adrian D. Smith Architecture Award, Best in Show
Summer Hofford, “Condensed House for Expanded Living”

Pella Fellowship Prize, Best Graduate Project
Mallory Rabeneck, “Group Form”

Pella Fellowship Prize, Best Undergrad Project
Wai Hin (Alfred) Wong, “T E L E P A T H Y”

Alumni awards

Alumni Choice Award, graduating student
Jacob Patnode, “The Big, Easy Greenway”

Alumni Choice Award, continuing student
Isaac Harms and Daniel Heski, “Cabinet Monastery”

Susan Nealey Scholarship Award
sponsored by FGM Architects
Monica Mulica, “Glimpses”

Faculty awards

Louis Solomon Award (Director’s Prize)
Victoria Hatsenko, “Fluid & Obstructed”

Timothy Bruce Award (first-year undergraduate)
David Zuccarelli, “Twisted Trails”

Kenneth Schroeder Scholarship (second-year undergraduate)
Maciej Matysek, “Talking to a Brick Wall”

Kevin K. Pierce Scholarship Award (third-year undergraduate)
Isaac Harms and Daniel Heski, “Cabinet Monastery”

Faculty Fellowship Award (fourth-year undergraduate)
Omar Garcia, “Inflating the Built World”

Synectics Group, Inc. Award (first-year graduate)
Cody Schueller, “Public House #18”

Swanke, Hayden, Connell, Ltd. Award (second-year graduate)
Jeffri Jacobe, “Structured Chaos”

Faculty Fellowship Award (third-year graduate)
Paul Chaca, Esaú Hernandez, and Julia Turner, “Polymorphous Phi”

The school would also like to offer special thanks to everyone who made the event possible: our faculty; jury members John McMorrough, Natasha Sandmeier, and Mark Wamble; our special guests and presenters, including Jason Benetti, the editors of Fresh Meat, Gwen Fullenkamp, Go Hasegawa, Jon Langford, and Andrew Zago; the Architectural Alumni Association; Mike Denz, Andy Jasek, and John Ochoa of FGM Architects; and Dean Rebecca Rugg, Jeff Mack, Michael Hanahan, and Omar Garcia.

Friday, May 22, 2020 to Friday, June 19, 2020